Gabi Gross

Gabi Gross
  1. Tell us who you are!

    My name is Gabi, I am 42 years old and live in Freiburg, Germany. I would describe myself as a positive thinking person, being open-minded and curious for a variety of things. In my leisure time I love being outdoor and travelling around. I am also active in many sports, and particularly love wind-and kitesurfing in summer and skiing in winter.

  2. Tell us more about your career steps and other projects you were part of!

    My background is pharmacist. When I decided to study pharmacy, I was pretty sure to work in a “classical” retail pharmacy afterwards. After university, however, I had to do a mandatory 1-year internship program, and at that time I decided to work in a marketing department in a pharmaceutical company (Hermal) for half a year. This was the key trigger for my career: I stayed with the company working as Medical Advisor at first and then moving to international marketing as International Brand Manager with global and strategical responsibilities. After 6 years, I moved to another company (Allergopharma) to work as Product Manager in a more tactical role. About 8 years ago, I started to work in my current company (Thermo Fisher Scientific) in various roles, starting as International Product Manager, Autoimmune Franchise Manager US (living in the US for 2 years), Director Global Marketing, Portfolio Leader and nowadays as Global Director Customer Insights Autoimmunity.

  3. What does “Social Capital” mean to you?

    Social Capital means for me supporting each other in a small or broader network of people having the same interest and values, giving and seeking advice, finding together solutions for problems and getting new insights for each party.

  4. What makes you successful in life/current job?

    Keeping an open-mind and listening carefully to understand and assess people and situations and having open communications.

  5. What is/has been your biggest achievement professionally and personally?

    Moving to the US and taking over my first management role, leading a sales team of very long-term experienced sales reps and being part of a male-only management team and establishing a new business area.

  6. What skills, experiences or incidences helped you to get you to where you are today? What hindered?

    With my open and curious mindset I often noticed the right opportunity at the right time and acted accordingly. After several years of very intense working I learnt that too much intensity can also hinder and managed to find my personal best work-life-balance in the meantime.

  7. What are your aspirations as a 1World Mentor for the 1World Social Capital Program?

    My aspiration is to share my experience and give advice, if requested, as well as learning from each other and growing together.

  8. What can you offer your 1World Mentee?

    Providing insights from different perspectives: I have started with a scientific career, moving into a “foreign” environment of marketing and strategy – I can share my experience, obstacles and learnings for this, but also from cultural perspectives, as I have worked in different international roles in Germany and abroad. Also, learning to live in a good balanced working and life environment was part of my own learning curve.

  9. What does your ideal 1World Mentee look like?

    I do not have specific requirements, if the Mentee believes I could help him or her, everybody is welcome.

  10. What are your aspirations for your 1World Mentee?

    My aspiration is to support the Mentee and help him/ her to get where they want to be.